11
Feb
13

Change Blindness

This is an old study, but I”m just now getting to it because of some reading I’m doing on perception.

http://public.wsu.edu/~fournier/Teaching/psych198/simons%26levin1998.pdf

In this study, it was found that more than half of people could not tell when the person they were talking to was quickly switched in mid conversation. Experimenter y would start talking to a pedestrian, then two people holding a door would walk in the middle of the conversation, and experimenter y would be replaced by experimenter x. People had a hard time noticing. Of course, the interactions were brief and so people probably didn’t take much time to encode details about the person they’re talking to, but for me, that just reinforces how much autopilot we use each day.

 

2 Responses to “Change Blindness”


  1. July 4, 2013 at 12:47 am

    First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head before writing. I have had a difficult time clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out. I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Cheers!

    • 2 questionbeggar
      July 6, 2013 at 6:41 am

      Biggest tip is to find an outlet (like a blog!) which is low commitment and low-stress. You should feel free to just fill the page. Then just do that.


Leave a Reply

