25
Mar
11

Private Eyes

They’re watching you. Hall and Oates, “Private Eyes

Saw this article today, and I found it interesting. As a bonus, it mentions chat roulette, which I wrote about here.

Anyway, this article is about some app called “color” (no idea why its called that) which apparently lets you take pictures that are automatically sent to people within 100 feet of you.

Apparently some people are concerned that there is a privacy issue, but I really don’t see the issue. I mean, if you download the app, then you will receive pictures, but I’m not sure what that reveals ABOUT YOU. Also, if you take pictures, they are automatically shared with the people are you. I guess there is the risk that you might snap a picture of your individual surroundings which is then broadcast (kind of a strange word, given the area it goes to. Do you know how small a circle with a 100 sq. ft radius is? ) to others.

I mean, there is also the idea that the device records your location, but it’s only relayed to people who are right on top of you anyway. Also, this thing isn’t something “running in the background.” If you’re taking photos with this thing, it seems like you probably have a pretty whimsical disposition, and hence are on alert that you shouldn’t be documenting your intimate moments.

Also, isn’t everyone just going to take lewd pictures of themselves. Is this the ultimate sketchy flirtation tool? I don’t know. I hope it gets integrated to four square so that you can only “check in” to a place by taking naked pictures of yourself.  That would really change the dynamic of that site.

(side note: I’m using four square as if everyone knows what it is, and I think that’s a pretty safe assumption, since I think I was one of the last people to find out about this ridiculous HYPERMARKETING tool.)

I’ve heard people say that my generation has been very complacent about internet privacy concerns and that in the future, there is going to be a backlash against so much un-regulated information sharing.

I don’t know what to think about this, but I think people my age couldn’t care less about internet privacy issues, and if anything it seems like they will care less and less as we see how totally awesome the internet is when people can design things to take advantage of information without waivers and whatever.

1 Response to “Private Eyes”


  1. 1 dan
    March 25, 2011 at 4:45 pm

    Doesn’t U.S. Intelligence stand to benefit quite a bit from a source of information like this? That is, if it’s true that they want to monitor all our emails and tweets (http://www.democracynow.org/2009/10/22/cia_invests_in_software_firm_monitoring), isn’t this Color App the next step in collecting personal information?

    So, you may indicate that most people our age don’t care about sharing personal information, but shouldn’t they? Shouldn’t we protect our privacy, at least to keep the government honest?


Leave a Reply

