07
Oct
10

Letter closings

How do people end their emails (or what used to be letters not so long ago)?

I started out by just saying “Best” but then I heard that was too common and so liable to come off as uncaring or just sloppy. As a consequence, I switched to “regards” but I’m growing tired of it and now I want to start ending my emails with really old fashioned and ridiculous endings.

For example, Joshua L. Chamberlain, famous union civil war commander from Maine, ended his letters with something to the effect of “Your loyal and humble servant.”

I want to go even further if possible. Here’s a letter closing from 1430

“And I am your man and ever will be, by the grace of God, which ever have you in his keeping.”

The problem though is if you go more than two hundred years back, all the letter endings mention God, which is fine, but I’m looking for something more all purpose. The 19th century, due to its concern with honor, will likely have the best stuff, but I haven’t found a closing that I like yet.

 

1 Response to “Letter closings”


  1. 1 thomas
    October 7, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Love,
    Jordan


Leave a Reply

