24
Jun
10

I think every road in Boston was broken

I drove to the airport to pick up my friend. There was one lane traffic, and I unsurprised that part of the road was shut down. That’s normal. But then, as I got closer to downtown, I found out that the exit to the AIRPORT was shut down. Really? The detour took me around most of the financial district of Boston before I got there. When I did, I found out that terminal B, where my friend was flying into, was completely shut down for repairs. So, me and the other people who were picking up trickled through a parking lot in the middle of the terminal which served as an ad hoc pick up line. There was no loitering anyway, and so, since my friend got outside 5 minutes after I passed through, I had to do the whole thing over again.

Then, I left the airport and found that the pavement on the sumner bridge part had been pulled out. So much for my tires and axles. Then I tried to get on 93, and found out that IT TOO was closed. The airport exit and 93? Without those two roads, there are no roads in Boston.

Finally I dropped my friends off at MIT, and found, as usual, that storrow drive was randomly closed off at several arbitrary points.

Now, in the grand scheme of things, I don’t take my complaints very seriously. I’m lucky to live in a country with roads at all, and most (all) of my bitching is hyperbole. But these little posts are cathartic for me because in all seriousness, Boston is a very badly kept up American city. That much is fact, and one which I hope might spur action at some point.

1 Response to “I think every road in Boston was broken”



Leave a Reply

