12
Apr
10

I don’t get what the scam is

Every time I’ve tried to rent my room on craigslist, I invariably get one email from someone claiming to be from another country or state and who obviously speaks marginal english. Usually the person poses as a female and makes vague sexual innuendos (? I really can’t tell) such as “I’m a model” or “I’m really looking to meet new people” and then some point about how all the person’s relatives are sick and dying. For a direct quote in response to my latest posting:

Am sure You ‘ll really like the person that i am ,because i will also do the dishing if you like,I work when i am to and relax when i am to,I also like sharing my thoughts also.”

I just really don’t get what the scam is. Usually the person offers to send me money for the security deposit and so it’s not like they’re trying to get money from me. I mean, I assume what would happen is that if I were gullible, I would agree to their ridiculous scheme and then they would promise to send money and then just not do it. Do they want to bounce a check intentionally? Does this help launder money? I really don’t know, but I find it incredibly annoying and also very easy to see through.

It also doesn’t seem like this blogging software has a sophisticated font control, otherwise this post would be in only one font…

1 Response to “I don’t get what the scam is”


  1. 1 lizdoherty
    April 12, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I have had the same experience, and wondered the same thing. The only thing I can think is that they are trying to gather addresses of empty homes to rob while we are on vacation. But I’m not sure. Curious.


Leave a Reply

