12
Sep
09

MJ

MJ

Michael Jordan was initiated into the basketball hall of fame today (9/11). I don’t really have anything pithy or wise to say about this event. I don’t even think Michael Jordan was the best basketball player of all time.

But, he was the best basketball player to me. I remember when I used to sit with my dad and watch playoff games as MJ faced off against Reggie Miller, John Stockton, and others. My dad marveled at Jordan’s athleticism and seemless domination of the other players of the day, and as I my eyes went from his face to Michael and then back to his face, I realized that this was something worth watching.

Others have inspired this feeling in other generations, but for my childhood, it was MJ, and for me he was an early and lasting example of the beauty and goodness of excellence.

0 Responses to “MJ”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

