18
Jul
09

hold on to the check

I have customers at my restaurant that make the same mistake time and time again; they sign the tip before they are ready to leave. They linger for hours after their meal, and I try to will myself to keep giving them water and cleaning up their table, but they give me dirty looks when their water is not refilled at the instant that they down the last drop.

Now, I don’t mind when people who do this, it gives me a chance to refocus my energy elsewhere, but for someone who wants good service long after they have finished eating or just want to torture the waiter with uncertainty and doubt, its better to wait to sign the credit card receipt. Until you sign this amount, you have all the leverage in the equation.

0 Responses to “hold on to the check”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

